Capriccio (Keuris)

From Wind Repertory Project
Tristan Keuris

Tristan Keuris

Subtitle: For 12 Wind Instruments and Double-Bass

General Info

Year: 1978
Duration: c. 9:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Donemus
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €53.19; (digital) - €31.91   |   Score Only (print) - €36.10
Also available as a rental.


Full Score
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
String Bass


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

At the request of the Netherlands Wind Ensemble the same orchestration was used as in Mozart's Serenade KV 361: 2 oboes, 4 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 4 horns and double bass.

It was a rather problematic arrangement for me, in view of the absence of the high winds (flute, piccolo) and the strongly accentuating sound of the sharp brass. In interchanging the oboes with the English horn and by dividing up the clarinets and bass clarinet, the power in the high and low registers of the woodwinds was enlarged. Due to the use of double-stops, harmonic and such, the double bass can no longer be replaced by the double bassoon, as was the case with Mozart. I have attempted in this ten-minute piece to illuminate the ensemble as variedly as possible, taking into consideration the restricted colour.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Maastricht (Netherlands) Academy of Music Wind Ensemble (Ivan Meylemans, conductor) - 14 October 2020

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Keuris, T. (1978). Capriccio for 12 Wind Instruments and Double-Bass (1978). [score]. Donemus: Amsterdam.