Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Arnold Franchetti

Arnold Franchetti

Subtitle: For Saxophone & Wind Ensemble. "Per non dormire."

General Info

Year: 1969 / 1974
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Seesaw Music
Cost: Score and Parts – Out of print


Full Score
Solo E-flat Alto Saxophone
C Piccolo
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
C Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drums (2)
  • Bongos
  • Chimes
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong, large
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbals (3)
  • Tambourine
  • Tenor Drum
  • Triangles (3)
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

A concerto in four movements for the virtuosic saxophonist. Rhythms can be quite difficult, uses quarter-tone vibrato, metric modulation, and the winds play airy sounds without tone. At times the soloist is in a chamber music setting, such as most of the entire last movement (with percussion, flute, saxes, trumpet). The composer was very interested in exploring the use of quintuplets in the solo line. He allowed for some indeterminacy, by asking for fluttering keys of indefinite pitch, and by composing phrase endings that repeat musical figures ad lib. as they fade away to nothing.

- Program Note by Hartt School


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • The Hartt Wind Ensemble (West Hartford, Conn.) (James Jackson, conductor) – 25 April 2020 (Performance scheduled, but concert canceled)

Works for Winds by This Composer