Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Call to the Mountains

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Samuel A. Livingston

Samuel A. Livingston

General Info

Year: 2011 / 2018
Duration: c. 12:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Navona Records
Cost: Free


1. Allegro
2. Andante sostenuto
3. Allegro


Clarinet in B-flat


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The piece could be described as folk-inspired classical chamber music.  The first movement, in 7/8, opens with a horn call and a response by the woodwinds. The second theme is a “big sky” theme of the type often found in Western movie scores, sounded in the horn and echoed in the woodwinds. The first movement concludes with a reprise of the opening theme. The second movement, in 5/4, alternates between lyrical legato melodies and contrapuntal passages based on folk-dance-like tunes. The third movement, in 7/8, is a set of variations on a folk-like theme; the final variation is based on the horn call that opened the first movement.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.