Buena Vista Furnace

From Wind Repertory Project
Roger Zare

Roger Zare

This is the third movement of the composer's Ghost Town Triptych

General Info

Year: 2021
Duration: c. 1:10
Difficulty: 1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Murphy Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $50.00

Instrumentation (Flexible)

There are first, second and third parts for each wind voice.

Full Score
C Treble Clef

  • Flute
  • Oboe

B-flat Treble Clef

  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone
  • B-flat Trumpet

E-flat Treble Clef

  • E-flat Alto Saxophone
  • E-flat Baritone Saxophone

F Treble Clef

  • Horn in F

C Bass Clef

  • Bassoon
  • Trombone
  • Euphonium

Percussion (4 players), including:

  • Anvil (or loud metallic found instrument)
  • Bass Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Some of the only surviving structures from the old ghost towns include immense iron furnaces. These 30-foot-high brick structures were used to produce iron, up to 600 tons each year. The Buena Vista Furnace is one of two of these furnaces that are still standing.

The clanging of metal and a quick and aggressive melody set the tone for this movement. The three sections of the ensemble play rounds, taking turns imitating each other’s melody, as if you can hear the ghosts of the iron workers singing as they tend to the furnace.

- Program Note from publisher

Performance Notes

Buena Vista Furnace may be performed by itself, or may be performed as part of a set of three pieces, each inspired by a part of the historic area of Pennsylvania's Blacklick Valley. If performed as a set, the suggested order is: 1 All Aboard the Hoodlebug, 2. Laurel Run, 3. Buena Vista Furnace.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works