Budapest Impressions

From Wind Repertory Project
André Waignein

André Waignein (as Roland Kernen)

N.B. This work is published under the composer name of Roland Kernen, which is a pseudonym for Andre Waignein.

General Info

Year: 1998
Duration: c. 7:20
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Curnow Music Press, through Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $147.00   |   Score Only (print) - $32.00


1. The Old Buda - 1:45
2. Invitation to the Dance - 0:50
3. View on the Danube - 1:55
4. The Hungarian Spirit- 2:00


Full Score
C Piccolo
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet/Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Budapest Impressions is a four-part homage to that beautiful Hungarian capital city. The first part paints the old town of Buda, which looks onto and far beyond the Danube River. It connects seamlessly with the second part, a traditional folk dance called a czardas. The third part is reminiscent of the Danube, with the rising and falling of the waves accompanying an expressive melody. The final movement depicts the Hungarian national character with a variety of dance styles.

- Program Note from University of Texas, Arlington, Symphonic Band concert program, 20 November 2022


State Ratings

  • Louisiana: II
  • Oklahoma: III-A


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Junior Rock (Flex instrumentation) (as Roland Kernen) (2000)

All Wind Works


  • Kernen, R. (1998). Budapest Impressions [score]. De Haske: Heerenveen, Neth.
  • Perusal score