Bridges Over the River Cam

From Wind Repertory Project
Derek Bourgeois

Derek Bourgeois

General Info

Year: 1990
Duration: c. 8:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: G and M Brand - British Music Publishers
Cost: Score & Parts - $125.00   |   Score Only - $12.50


Full Score
Flute I-II (piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
French Horn I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong (Tam-tam)
  • Maracas
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Woodblock


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Bridges Over the River Cam (A Cambridge Overture) portrays the maturer reflections of Derek Bourgeois on his days as a Cambridge undergraduate. All the elements of student life are features; the idyllic walks along the 'Backs' which lead to the river from Kings College, the organist lending his fugue a touch of bravura with rippling semi-quavers, leading perhaps to a rather drunken reverie and a change of metre. And of course, the gentle hint of romance is there too. This tuneful overture is certainly not too serious and allows all the members of the band to enjoy themselves.

Bridges Over the River Cam was commissioned by the Cambridge Youth Concert Band with funds provided by the Eastern Arts Association. The first performance of the work was given by the Cambridge Youth Concert Band, conducted by the composer, at the Concert Hall of Cambridge University Music School 13 May 1990.

Program Note from Printed Score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Serenade (Flex instrumentation) (adapt. Brand) (1965/1980/2020)

All Wind Works


None discovered thus far.