Breaking News

From Wind Repertory Project
Mark Phillips

Mark Phillips

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 18:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Coolville Music
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-VI (one or more doubling Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II-III
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-VI
B-flat Bass Clarinet I-II
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-VI
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos (2)
  • Brake Drums (3)
  • Congas (2)
  • Drum Set
  • Field Drum
  • Maracas
  • Marimba
  • Shakers, high and low
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbals, high and low
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tams, high and low
  • Temple Blocks (5)
  • Timbales (2)
  • Tom-Toms (2)
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Blocks (3)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

About his composition, Mark Phillips says:

In Breaking News, there's ample flexibility for both the conductor and the performers to shape the piece in real time, during the concert. There are sections that are less conventionally notated, and others that are more locked down, more strictly articulated, lending the piece a dense and shimmering sound that is quite attractive.

- Program Note by Daniel J. King

Breaking News is my idiosyncratic reflection on our modern era of media fragmentation, citizen journalism, and crowd-sourced news; on the jarring, interrupting effect of headlines from all over the world intruding on our lives as we exercise our unalienable right to the pursuit of happiness; and on prominent rhythms and themes that have emerged from several big news stories of the past few years. Sometimes the connection is obvious, sometimes more oblique, and sometimes downright obscure, including rhythms derived from Morse code.

- Program Note by composer

Composed for Andrew Trachsel and the Ohio University Wind Symphony for their Carnegie Hall performance on February 27, 2017.

- Program Nite from score


  • American Prize in Composition, 2017-18, Finalist, Honorable Mention


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Ohio University (Athens) Wind Symphony (Andrew Trachsel, conductor) – 27 February 2017 (Carnegie Hall, New York) *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer