Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Bounce (Schoenberg)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Adam Schoenberg

Adam Schoenberg (trans. Tyler Austin)

General Info

Year: 2014 / 2018
Duration: c. 10:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Two Pianos
Publisher: Schoenberg Music
Cost: Score and Parts (digital) – Rental ($425.00)   |   Score Only (print) - $90.00


Full Score
Flute I-II-III (III doubles Piccolo)
Bassoon I-II-III
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
C Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Aluphone
  • Conga
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Djembe
  • Egg Shaker
  • Glockenspiel
  • Hi-Hat
  • Kick Drum
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tom-Toms (3)
  • Triangles (2)
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Originally conceived as the first part of a ballet for children, Bounce is my latest work for orchestra, co-commissioned by the Aspen Music Festival and School and Los Angeles Philharmonic.

When the commission was finalized in November 2012, my wife and I learned that a new addition to our family would be arriving in late summer. Within minutes of this discovery, the title Bounce came to mind, and I knew that this work would be inspired by my first child.

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring premiered on May 29, 1913, in Paris. The ballet was originally written for piano four-hands. He was traditionally known for composing at the piano, so this is how he first conceived the work before orchestrating it. In honor of Stravinsky and the centennial of The Rite, I decided to write Bounce for two pianos first, and then orchestrate it.

The piece begins with an introduction to pave the way for the dancers as they make their way to the stage. After a chord progression is presented several times with growing orchestrations, Bounce officially begins with the announcement of an ostinato. In the spirit of Stravinsky, I approached the composition and orchestration from a block form point of view. The piece moves from ABABCDEBABE, and it is by far the most innocent, happy, and fun work I’ve ever written. It is meant to be light, child-like, and emotionally moving.

With great admiration, a special thank you must be given to both Asadour Santourian and Chad Smith.

Bounce is dedicated to my son, Luca. I know we haven’t met yet, but please know that I already love you, both infinitely and unconditionally. May you enter this world bouncing and soaring with love, creativity, happiness, and curiosity. We will forever be here for you as we watch you grow and become your own person.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Oklahoma State University (Stillwater) Wind Ensemble (Joseph Missal, conductor) – 3 October 2019
  • Michigan State University (East Lansing) Wind Symphony (Kevin Sedatole, conductor) – 30 January 2018 *Transcription Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer