Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Maurice Ravel

Maurice Ravel (trans. Marco Tamanini)

General Info

Year: 1928 / 2011
Duration: c. 14:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Baton Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €159.00   |   Score Only (print) - €26.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Oboe d'Amore
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
E-flat Trumpet
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Tam Tam



None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Maurice Ravel is perhaps known best for his orchestral work Bolero (1928), which he considered trivial and once described as "a piece for orchestra without music". Bolero is a one-movement orchestral piece originally composed as a ballet commissioned by Russian ballerina Ida Rubinstein. For Bolero he used the opportunity to conduct an experiment. As he put it, the score would be "uniform throughout in its melody, harmony and rhythm, the latter being tapped out continuously on the drum. The only element of variety is supplied by the orchestral crescendo." Instrumental coloring plays a major role, as well, an area in which Ravel had attained supreme mastery.

After its premiere as a ballet, Bolero quickly won even greater success in the concert hall.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Cleveland (Tenn.) Pops Concert Band (Sarah Pearson, conductor) – 10 March 2020
  • State University of New York Stony Brook Wind Ensemble (Bruce Engel, conductor) – 17 April 2019
  • Tufts University (Somerville, Mass.) Wind Ensemble (John McCann, conductor) – 14 April 2019
  • Troy University (Troy, Ala.) Symphony Band (Mark Walker, conductor) – 23 February 2018 (CBDNA 2018 Southern Conference, Tampa, Fla.)

Works for Winds by This Composer