Bohemian Revelry (tr Holland)

From Wind Repertory Project
Adam Gorb

Adam Gorb (arr. John Holland)

General Info

Year: 2013 / 2017
Duration: c. 14:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Wind ensemble
Publisher: Maecenas Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - £72.00   |   Score Only (print) - £24.00


1. Polka – 3:30
2. Furiant – 3:20
3. Sousdeka – 5:20
4. Scocna – 3:35


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Piano (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Imaginatively transcribed from the original work for wind orchestra, this homage to Czech dance forms perfectly suits the nurturing qualities of an ensemble of woodwinds and saxophones.

The work consists of four contrasting movements starting with an elegant, stylish Polka. The second movement is an exciting, traditional, cross rhythmed Furiant. Calm returns with a gentler, swaying Sousedska which moves without a break into a high energy, foot stomping Skocna.

- Program Note from publisher

Bohemian Revelry is a tribute to the verve and vigour of the music of the people of the Czech Republic, but it is also a celebration of the other meaning of the word, meaning the artistic and social freedom of people without ties or responsibilities, allowing for a party atmosphere whenever and wherever possible, as painted so vividly and memorably in the second act of Puccini’s timeless masterpiece La Boheme.

The work is in four movements based on well-known Czech dances:

1. Polka: A moderate tempo dance in duple time, but with an unexpectedly violent conclusion.

2. Furiant: Very fast triple time with a more nostalgic middle section. Eventually the dance fades away lading into a 3. Sousdeka: A more relaxed dance in 3/4 with a pastoral feel.

4. Scocna: Fast and lively duple time incorporating a hymn like melody drawn from a Czech Christmas carol. Drinks all round at the end!

Any reminiscences of a certain set of dances by a very well-known Czech composer should be heard as an act of homage rather than parody or plagiarisation.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Illinois State University (Normal) Wind Symphony (Anthony C. Marinello III, conductor) - 28 February 2021

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works