Bluegrass Overture, A

From Wind Repertory Project
Philip Sparke

Philip Sparke

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 6:25
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Anglo Music, through Music Shop Europe
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €137.00   |   Score Only (print) - €25.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This energetic overture opens with an introduction loosely based on "bluegrass" chords before a slower, legato chorale appears in the clarinets and flutes. This is short-lived and soon a new mood is introduced, based on a repeated-note accompaniment. This leads to the main theme, heavily syncopated with bluesy inflections. A central section features a cantabile melody, which changes key frequently, before the main theme reappears, leading to a triumphal presentation of the earlier chorale melody.

A Bluegrass Overture was commissioned by Gabriel Wooley and funded by a grant from Leslie and Cathy Anderson for the Central Kentucky Concert Band to celebrate their 40th anniversary in 2016.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer