Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Blue Impulse

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Takanobu Saito

Takanobu Saito

General Info

Year: 1970 / 2018
Duration: c. 3:30
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Nexuss Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts – 8,250 yen   |   Score - 2,200 yen


Full Score
Flute I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II (I doubling B-flat Soprano Saxophone)
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
String Bass or Electric Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Drum Set
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The march Blue Impulse was commissioned to commemorate the 10th anniversary of the Air Self-Defense Force Band (now Central Band). The piece depicts the courage of "Blue Impulse," an aerobatic team of the Air Self-Defense Force. Fast tempo evoking the speed of jet planes, lively bossa nova rhythm and syncopation, and the beautiful melody of the soprano saxophone played in the trio attracted attention as a novel work that broke with the conventional concept of march, and later became the theme music for FM Tokyo's program "Fresh Morning" for two years.

- Program note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.