Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Beyond the Light and Darkness

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Naoya Wada

Naoya Wada

General Info

Year: 2022
Duration: c. 4:50
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $84.00   |   Score Only (print) - $11.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Trombone I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Life is a journey. As we live, we experience many hopes and disappointments. I liken this to light and darkness which I have endeavored to reflect in this work. I hope the performers will relate their personal experiences to this music, as they follow their personal paths through life.

Beyond the Light and Darkness was premiered in Tokyo on 20 December 2020 by the Keika Gakuen High School and Middle School Band.

- Program Note by composer

Beyond the Light and Darkness is an energetic concert overture for mid-level bands. The bold opening theme is repeated in the main section, explored and developed with varying styles. The flowing middle section attracts the players and the audiences with beautiful melodies and harmonies.

- Program Note from publisher

Dedicated to the Keiki Gakuen Symphonic Band, Tokyo, Japan; Hidenori Ebato and Mao Orita, Directors.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works