Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Berceuse (Ilyinsky)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Alexander Ilyinsky

Alexander Ilyinsky (arr. Michael Miller)

Subtitle: (from Noure et Anitra)

General Info

Year: 2021
Duration: c. 2:20
Difficulty: II (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Excelcia Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $65.00; (digital) - $65.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Mark Tree
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Around the year 1896, Russian composer Alexander Alexandrovich Ilyinsky wrote an orchestral suite called Noure et Anitra. It was from this work that he borrowed his lullaby Berceuse. Originally scored for harp and strings by Ilyinsky, it is here scored for concert band. Ilyinsky's lush melodies unfold over a relentless stream of arpeggiated eighth notes.

- Program Note from Wakeland High School Wind Symphony concert program, 17 December 2021

This lullaby from Alexander Alexandrovich Ilyinsky's orchestral suite has a truly unique pentatonic sound that gives it a wide appeal. There is a push and pull between lighter verdant scenes and thicker, darker-sounding textures.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer