Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Bells of San Miguel, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
John Morrissey

John Morrissey

Subtitle: Third Movement from Viva Mexico!

General Info

Year: 1961
Duration: c. 3:45
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Piedmont Music, through Marks Music Corp.
Cost: Score and Parts – Out of print.

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
E-flat Horn or Alto I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

From the smallest village to the largest city, the haunting sounds of church bells permeate the air. Nowhere do they dominate the scene more poignantly than in the picturesque city of San Miguel de Allende where the beautiful cathedral rises imposingly at the edge of the central plaza.

Dedicated to the members of the Tulane University Band of 1959-1960.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • West Virginia: III


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer


  • Morrissey, J. (1961). The Bells of San Miguel : From Viva Mexico! A Symphonic Suite for Band [score]. Piedmont Music Co.: [New York?]