Banks of Newfoundland, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Howard Cable

Howard Cable

General Info

Year: 2009
Duration: c. 8:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Eighth Note Publications
Cost: Score and Parts - $125.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Howard Cable, still active at age 95, is a Canadian icon revered by all in the Canadian band world. The Banks of Newfoundland is a revision of his Newfoundland Rhapsody of the 1950s. It contains eight great tunes in a colourful and wildly modulatory setting.

- Program Note by David Branter for the Pacific Symphonic Wind Ensemble concert program, 16 July 2015



State Ratings

  • MusicFest Canada: B600


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Cable, H. (2009). The Banks of Newfoundand [score]. Eighth Note Publications: [Markham, Ont.].
  • Perusal score