Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Jan Van der Roost

Jan Van der Roost

Subtitle: Three Balkanese Dances

General Info

Year: 1998
Duration: c. 10:50
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Curnow Music Press through De Haske
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €164.00   |   Score Only (print) - €32.50


1. Moderato ben tenuto poco rubato – 3:05
2. Gentile, poco rubato – 3:00
3. Andante comodo – 4:40


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute I
Flute II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet/Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Hand Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This suite of three Balkanese dances capture the spirit of Balkan folk music. Jan Van der Roost creatively weaves his original themes in the rich, sonorous opening and throughout the changes of tempo and style. It's an exciting work that pays homage to the heritage of a land currently in the forefront of world attention.

- Program Note from publisher

Balkanya, a suite in three parts composed by Jan Van der Roost, was commissioned by the Music School of Gaillon - Aubevoye (France) for the celebration of the twentieth anniversary of its creation. Jan Van der Roost dedicated the piece to the director of the school: Thierry Patel.

As in his earlier work, Puszta, the composer makes no use of existing dances or themes in these three Balkan dances. This high-spirited suite takes its own approach to the folk music of the Balkan countries and is characterized by unique changes in tempo and spirit. Woodwinds, brass and percussion all have equal parts, making this suite attractive and enjoyable for the entire band.

Commissioned by the "Ecole de Musique de Gaillon-Aubevoye (France);" dedicated to Thierry Patel.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Georgia: V
  • Iowa: IV
  • Louisiana: III, IV and V
  • Mississippi: VI-A
  • Oklahoma: V-A
  • Tennessee: VI
  • Texas: III (One mvt.)
  • Texas: IV and V. Complete
  • Virginia: V
  • Wisconsin: Event 3000 Concert Band Grade A


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer