Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Balan fô

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Vicente Ortiz Gimeno

Vicente Ortiz Gimeno

Subtitle: Concerto for Marimba and Wind Ensemble

General Info

Year: 2010
Duration: 12:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Tot Per l'Aire
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €100.00   |   Score Only (print) - €50.00


1. Molto Allegro
2. Adagio. Cadenza
3. Allegro Furioso


Full Score
Solo Marimba
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
B-flat Flugelhorn I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium (div. a2)
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Balan fô in the Malinké language means “play the balan”. The balan is one of the precursors of the current marimba. However, the balan uses a different tuning system, with scale close to a quartile scale in our dodecaphonic system. Either the melodic and harmonic material in this piece are built using perfect fourths, but in a tonal context. The piece was composed using the three part Allegro-Adagio-Allegro form, with a marimba cadenza linking the second and third movements.

Composed in 2010, Balan fô was the winner of the Ciutat de Llíria International Composition prize in January 2011, held in Llíria (Valencia, Spain)[1]. This piece is written for Alejandro Ortiz Gimeno, percussionist and composer’s brother. Balan fô was premiered on July 16th by Unió Musica de Llíria (Valencia, Spain) with the percussionist of the Valencia Opera House Francisco Inglés.


  • Llíria International Composition Competition 2011
  • SGAE Publishing Incentive 2013



To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer