Autumn Soliloquy

From Wind Repertory Project
James Barnes

James Barnes

Subtitle: For Solo Oboe and Winds

General Info

Year: 1987
Duration: c. 7:00
Difficulty: III (solo and ensemble) (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Southern Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $16.95


Full Score
Solo Oboe
Solo Flute (optional)
Solo B-flat Soprano Clarinet (optional)
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe (optional)
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Wind Chime
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This delightful tone poem by James Barnes was composed as an oboe solo with wind orchestra accompaniment and dedicated to Susan Hicks Brashier. It is quite different from most of Barnes's music, which is powerful and energetic. The piece beings with a melancholy oboe solo and a one-line melody on a horn in the background. The clarinet and bassoon then have a turn with the melody. An oboe cadenza catches one's notice as the swirling chill of autumn. The colors of sounds indicate the changing colors of leaves. There is a last burst of brilliance and excitement before the oboe once again sings in a plaintive cadenza. Recalling the initial theme before retreating, the accompaniment introduce a pyramid of sound to bring the piece to a quiet ending.

- Program Note from publisher

For Susan Hicks Brashier.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Southern Mississippi (Hattiesburg) Concert Band (Travis Higa, conductor) - 4 October 2022
  • University Of North Carolina, Greensboro, University Band (J. Benjamin Jones, Conductor; Kelley Tracz, oboe) – 19 November 2019
  • Gateway Concert Band (Enumclaw, Wash.) (Jack Prindle, conductor) – 16 December 2018
  • Peninsula Symphonic Band (Palo Alto, Calif.) (Jason McChristian, conductor; Roger Tang, oboe) - 13 August 2017
  • North Coast Symphonic Band (Astoria, Ore.) (Dave Becker, conductor; Woonhyun Bona Choi, flute) – 30 October 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Barnes, J. (1987). Autumn Soliloquy : Solo Oboe or Flute, or Clarinet with Band Accompaniment [score]. Southern Music Co.: San Antonio, Tx.