From Wind Repertory Project
Teo Aparicio-Barberán

Teo Aparicio-Barberán

Subtitle: Symphony No. 1

General Info

Year: 2002 / 2010
Duration: c. 21:05
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Beriato, through Music Shop Europe
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €293.99   |   Score Only (print) - €37.00


1. The door of Val Hall
2. The guard of the clouds
3. Crazy man


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone (optional)
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Flugelhorn I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Antique Cymbals
  • Bar Chimes
  • Bass Drum
  • Chinese Cymbal
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tenor Drum
  • Tom-tom
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This symphony is the most important work of Spanish composer Teo Aparicio-Barberán. The 2002 International Contest for Bands "Ciudad de Valencia", one of the most prestigious competitions in Europe, marked its first public performance.

Throughout the work, which consists of three movements, the composer uses a modern musical vocabulary and combines strong melodic instrumentation with impressive rhythmic passages. Asgard is based on a Scandinavian romantic narrative in the light of the ancient Germanic sagas .… where the flowery landscape remains in that sweet-scented season where spring is always on the brink of summer. Its fields resemble smooth green lawns (maintained by the grazing red cattle and woolly sheep) and its forests are home to deer and songbirds. The area is protected by an unsurmountable stone wall, and is impossible to enter except by the grace of Odin. It is here, at High Seat in Valhalla, that Odin sits on his throne and surveys all those in his dominion.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer