Ascent (Shapiro)

From Wind Repertory Project
Alex Shapiro

Alex Shapiro

General Info

Year: 2020
Duration: c. 2:30
Difficulty: IV+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Activist Music LLC
Cost: Score and Parts (print or digital) $60.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Tuba I-II
Percussion (5 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Splash Cymbal
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone

Electronic sound effects


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Ascent reflects the effort to get off the ground, literally or figuratively. It's a micro-overture that begins with the promise of upward transcendence, yet soon flies off into rogue disorganization. The raucous flock of many notes finally gathers into a united upward-headed murmuration, but the freedom of soaring into the sky brings an uneasy mystery before settling into the tranquil air of anticipation.

Ascent was commissioned by Jeffrey Boeckman and the University of Hawai'i at Manoa, with the participation of 24 high school and college members of the consortium.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Capital University (Bexley, Ohio) Symphonic Winds (John Climer, conductor) - 25 February 2023
  • University of British Columbia (Vancouver) Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Robert Taylor, conductor) - 19 November 2022
  • University of Washington (Seattle) Wind Ensemble (Timothy Salzman, conductor) - 9 December 2021
  • University of Arizona (Tucson) Wind Ensemble (Chad R. Nicholson, conductor) - 4 December 2021
  • University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point Symphonic Wind Ensemble (John P. Lynch, conductor) - 7 October 2021
  • University of Hawaii (Honolulu) Wind Ensemble (Jeffrey Boeckman, conductor) – 1 March 2020 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works