Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

As the World Watched

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Quincy C. Hilliard

Quincy Hilliard

General Info

Year: 2019
Duration: c. 12:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: BandT Publications through Print Music Source
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $175.00; (digital) - $125.00   |   Score Only (print) - $30.00; (digital) - $20.00


1. Shock and Disbelief
2. Anger
3. Depression


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II (I doubles Soprano Saxophone)
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • China Cymbals, small
  • Concert Toms
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

As the World Watched is a programmatic work based on the composer’s view of some of the violent events that have happened around the world, both past and present. The abuse that mankind has perpetrated upon each other, man’s inhumanity to man, and the taking of human life -- for no reason at all -- are the major points of the piece.

The work is divided into three sections: shock and disbelief, anger, and depression. Each section paints the deep emotions that such troubling events bring forth.

Commissioned by the Tenth District Band Directors of the Georgia Music Education Association.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer