Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

As Above, So Below

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Nathan Daughtrey

Nathan Daughtrey

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 13:30
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00


1. Asgard, Home of the Gods – 3:45
2. Niflheim: The World of Ice & Mist – 4:40
3. Jötenheim: The Land of the Giants – 5:00


Full Score
Timpani (4)
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum (Concert and Kick)
  • Bells
  • Bongos
  • Chimes
  • China Cymbals
  • Claves
  • Concert Toms (4)
  • Congas (2)
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Djembe
  • Hardwood Planks (2)
  • Hi-Hat
  • Log Drum (4 pitches)
  • Marimba I-II-III-IV
  • Rainstick (large)
  • Sizzle Ride Cymbal
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbals (medium and medium low)
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangles (2)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Commissioned by the Woodbury High School Percussion Ensemble (Minn.), Branden Steinmetz, director, As Above, So Below delves into the universe of Norse mythology. The three-movement work for percussion orchestra centers on Yggdrasil, the “Tree of Life” with branches that extend to all nine of the worlds that make up the Norse mythological universe. The tree’s three roots connect three of these worlds—Asgard, Niflheim, and Jötenheim—which make up the three movements of the piece.

The first movement, Asgard: The Home of the Gods, is the first to present the Yggdrasil theme, which runs through all three movements. This world is a land more fertile than any other and is located high in the sky. Filled with ascending figures throughout the ensemble, the music also celebrates the strength, beauty, and talent of the Norse gods who live there.

The second movement, Niflheim: The World of Ice & Mist, is situated in the lowest level of the universe. It is a dark, icy cold, and foggy realm where one will find the frozen river of Elivágar, the well of Hvergelmir (a bubbling, boiling spring), and the dragon Nídhöggr, who gnaws on Yggdrasil’s root. The realm of death, Helheim, is also here.

The third and final movement, Jötenheim: The Land of the Giants, features a vast, mighty wilderness with deep, dark forests and mountain peaks. Enemies of the gods, the giants have experienced plenty of battles here. It is also the home of Mímir’s well of wisdom. Driven by a relentless, low ostinato in the piano and marimba, this movement is filled with excitement from beginning to end.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Texas: Percussion Ensemble I


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works