Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Arctic Fire

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Robert Buckley

Robert Buckley

This work is the third movement of Buckley's Symphony No. 1, Portraits of the North.

General Info

Year: 2014
Duration: c. 5:15
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00; (digital) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.50


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Hi-hat
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The cinematic approach to the music of Arctic Fire portrays many different images of the North - the crimson sunlight glinting off the icebergs, the radiance of the northern lights, the blaze of the red twig dogwood, the scarlet red sunsets, and the fiery spirit of the people who live there. The piece opens and closes with a series of dramatic musical snapshots. In between, the music evolves and transforms through a wide range of stylistic textures and moods.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by the West Vancouver (B.C.) Youth Band -- Douglas Macauley, Director, to commemorate the band's 80th anniversary.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • North Carolina: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works