Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Ankrovag Fanfare

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Bruce Yurko

Bruce Yurko

This work is the first movement of A Jack Stamp Suite.

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 1:05
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Neil A. Kjos Music Company
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $85.00   |   Score Only (print) - $9.00


Full Score
Flute I-II-III (III doubling C Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
English Horn
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Written to be included as the first movement to the multi-composer suite honoring the retirement of composer Jack Stamp, Ankrovag is the retrograde spelling of one of Jack Stamp's most famous early works, Gavorkna Fanfare. Composer Bruce Yurko puts his own imprint on the compositional style of the dedicatee, Jack Stamp.

- Program Note from publisher

Written by composer and conductor Jack Stamp in 1991, Gavorkna Fanfare was a gift to Eugene Corporon and the Cincinnati College Conservatory Wind Symphony. Taking that composition as a point of departure, Bruce Yurko (b. 1951) composed Ankrovag Fanfare —the title of which spells out Gavorkna backwards—as the first movement (and potentially stand-alone piece) of the multi-composer creation, A Jack Stamp Suite— dedicated to the 2015 retirement of Stamp from Indiana University at Pennsylvania.

Like its source of inspiration, Ankrovag Fanfare is fairly short—as is typical for the genre—though written in a way that intersperses minimalist compositional techniques with dissonant battle calls. Like most fanfares, the brass and percussion take central stage, yet the full wind ensemble, inclusive of a short, yet open melodic fragment in the woodwinds, adds a welcome anticipatory nuance against the angst-filled flourishes of the piece.

- Program Note by Marissa Silverman for the Montclair State University Wind Symphony concert program, 21 February 2019


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer