Angels of the Apocalypse

From Wind Repertory Project
David Gillingham

David Gillingham

General Info

Year: 2013
Duration: c. 7:45
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Percussion octet
Publisher: C. Alan
Cost: Score and Parts - $140.00   |   Score Only - $35.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Brake Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crotales
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Angels of the Apocalypse was inspired by the Biblical book of Revelation. The work begins with the opening of the Seventh Seal with trumpets being given to seven angels. One of the angels has a golden censer and offers prayers of the saints at the altar, and then takes fire from the altar, puts it in the censer and throws it down to the earth, causing thunder, lightning and earthquakes.

Six sections follow, each representing the first six angels. The first angel blows the trumpet that brings about hail and fire. A trumpet call by the second angel produces a mountain of fire thrown to the earth and one third of the oceans and water on earth become blood. Following a trumpet call by the third angel, the star, Wormwood, poisons all the waters. The angel blowing the fourth trumpet causes one third of the sun, moon and starts to be smitten. The trumpet call of the fifth angel releases locusts from the bottomless pit to kill those who are without God’s seal, and the sixth angel’s trumpet summons four angels from the Euphrates River to slay one third of the people on earth. A rainbow forms over the earth and the seventh angel blows a trumpet: Voices praise God, saying that all the kingdoms of the world are His (“Hymn of the Angels”).

- Program Note from score

Wind transcription of the original Percussion Octet. Commissioned by Saitama Sakae High School Wind Orchestra; Minoru Otaki, Director. Saitama City, Saitama, Japan.


State Ratings

  • North Carolina: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Gillingham, D. [2013]. Angels of the Apocalypse: Wind Band Transcription of the Original Percussion Octet [score]. C. Alan Publications: Greensboro, N.C.