Angels, from the Realms of Glory

From Wind Repertory Project
James Montgomery

James Montgomery (arr. Robert W Smith)

General Info

Year: 1816 / 1999
Duration: c. 5:05
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts - $65.00   |   Score Only - $9.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Angels from the Realms of Glory by James Montgomery was first published in 1816 under the title Nativity. Through the years, it has undergone transformations and revisions, but none more powerful than this stunning setting for concert band. Using a five-note motif (the first five notes of the traditional carol), the work proceeds from gentle beginning to dramatic finale.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Robert W. Smith website Accessed 6 September 2021
  • Smith, R.; Montgomery, J. (1999). Angels from the Realms of Glory [score]. Belwin-Mills Publishing; Miami, Fla.