American Port of Call, An

From Wind Repertory Project
Adolphus Hailstork

Adolphus Hailstork (trans. Pershauna Johnson)

General Info

Year: 1985 / 2022
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Theodore Presser
Cost: Score and Parts – Unknown


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute III
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
Contrabassoon (or Bassoon III)
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
C Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong (small and medium, or Piatti)
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam (large)
  • Tenor Drum
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Hailstork’s musical language, which is warmly lyrical, tonal, pulsing with energy, and often narrative-driven, reflects what he has described as “a double cultural experience, that of my standard European-oriented education and that of my ethnic heritage.”

Possibly Hailstork’s best-known orchestral score, An American Port of Call, resulted from a commission in the mid-1980s from the Virginia Symphony Orchestra and centers around the port of Norfolk, where the composer resides. Hailstork’s vibrant orchestration and well-judged contrasts convey, in his own words, “the strident (and occasionally tender and even mysterious) energy of a busy American port city.”

The wind ensemble transcription of An American Port of Call was written by Pershauna Johnson as a dissertation project with a sincere interest in contributing an artistic and cultivated work to the medium.

- Program Note from Nashville Symphony Orchestra, 2019, adapted by Pershauna Johnson


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Texas Tech University (Lubbock) Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Pershauna Johnson, conductor) - 23 April 2023 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer