American Jazz Suite

From Wind Repertory Project
Allen Vizzutti

Allen Vizzutti

General Info

Year: 1992 / 1994
Duration: c. 13:25
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00; (digital) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.00; (digital) - $7.00


1. Bluesy with Inflections
2. Fast Jazz


Full Score
Solo B-flat Trumpet
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Agogo Bells
  • Chimes
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom-tom
  • Vibraphone (with motor)
  • Xylophone (3.5 octaves)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The American Jazz Suite is a two-movement, blues-influenced symphonic jazz work conceived as a showcase for the trumpet soloist’s written melodies and jazz improvisations. The soloist is called upon to play half valves, to bend notes, and to characteristically change timbres – all of which are second nature to jazz artists. The American Jazz Suite contains jazzstyle soli writing for sections within the ensemble as well. The ‘jazziness’ of the performance lies solely in the hands and hearts of the ensemble and soloist, not on the written page. Academic analysis of the piece is unimportant because each interpretation, particularly in the case of the trumpet soloist, will be different. Spontaneity and fun are the overriding qualities that transcend the written notes of The American Jazz Suite.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer