Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Alyssa Morris

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Alyssa Morris


Alyssa Morris (b. 1984) is an American composer and oboist.

Ms. Morris received her undergraduate and master’s degrees in oboe performance from Brigham Young University (BYU), where she studied with Dr. Geralyn Giovannetti. While attending BYU, Alyssa performed as concerto soloist with the BYU Wind Symphony and the Philharmonic, was a winner of the 2007 and 2014 BYU concerto competitions, and was a recipient of the Dean’s Award for the School of Music. As principal oboist of the BYU Philharmonic for three years and BYU Wind Symphony for two, Alyssa performed throughout the United States and Europe.

As a composer, Alyssa has been commissioned to write music for the Arizona State University faculty wind quartet, the Eastern Kentucky University faculty wind trio, Brigham Young University's Sundance Trio, and Carolyn Hove (English horn of the L.A. Philharmonic).

Alyssa is currently [2016] a DMA student at the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music, studying oboe performance with Dr. Mark Ostoich.

Works for Winds