Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Allegro and Intermezzo (Smith)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Claude T. Smith

Claude T. Smith

Subtitle: A Concert Overture

General Info

Year: 1985 / 1996
Duration: c. 4:50
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Claude T. Smith Publications, Inc. through C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts - $65.00   |   Score Only - $12.00


Full Score
Flute (and Piccolo)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This concert piece displays lyrical themes and challenging rhythmic motives including a 7/8 measure which has become a trademark of Claude’s writing. A perfect choice for an advanced middle school or less experienced high school group.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by and dedicated to the Blue Springs, Missouri, High School Band, Douglas Watts Conductor

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Arkansas: III
  • North Carolina: IV
  • Virginia: IV


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works