Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Alexander Comitas

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Alexander Comitas


Alexander Comitas (born Eduard de Boer, 24 July 1957, Sneek, The Netherlands) is a Dutch composer and pianist.

Comitas studied piano with Thom Bollen and composition with Hans Kox at the Utrecht Conservatory, and orchestral conducting with Anton Kersjes at the Maastricht Conservatory. From 1981 to 1990 he worked as a freelance pianist for the orchestras and the choir of the Dutch radio. Then he decided to dedicate himself entirely to composing.

Since 1981 Comitas has been writing his music almost exclusively in commission. Comitas has written several compositions for wind orchestra, including two Armenian rhapsodies and, commissioned by the Marine Band of the Royal Netherlands Navy, A Night on Culbin Sands. Armenian Rhapsody Nr. I served as a compulsory piece during the First Open Dutch Championship for concert level wind orchestras, in Kerkrade in 1995. A Night on Culbin Sands was selected to serve as a compulsory piece for concert level wind orchestras, during the 2001 World Music Contest in Kerkrade. In 2007, he received a commission to write an opera with wind orchestra, for the 2009 World Music Contest.

He has used a pseudnym Alexander Comitas for a long time, but in 2018 he moved his official website from to, and stated that he was going to work under the real name Eduard de Boer.

Works for Winds