Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Alex Turley

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Alex Turley


Alex Turley (b. 13 March 1995, Sydney, Australia) is an Australian composer.

Mr. Turley holds a Master of Music (composition) degree from the Sydney Conservatorium of Music and a BMus (Hons) from the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts. Alex works on the unceded land of the Boonwurrung and Wurundjeri people.

Mr. Turley's music has garnered international recognition. He is the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra’s 2022 Young Composer in Residence. Recent work includes Barra-róddjiba, a cross-cultural collaboration with all-woman rock band Ripple Effect and Kunibidji elders, and new pieces for multi-composer initiatives The ANAM Set and Sydney Symphony's 50 Fanfares. In 2018, Alex held composer-in-residence positions with Melbourne-based chamber outfit Forest Collective and the Kodaly Music Education Institute of Australia. His orchestral work City of Ghosts was recently featured by Robert Spano and the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra to critical acclaim.

Works for Winds