Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Rossano Galante

Rossano Galante

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 5:10
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $78.00; (digital) - $78.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III-IV (6-9 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Mark Tree
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The inspiration for this beautiful commissioned work is best explained in the words of the composer:

"Since the beginning of time, man has pondered what happens when our physical body dies. Some believe we go to Heaven. Others doubt its existence entirely ... For me, I have always hoped that when we pass it will be a very peaceful experience."

A slow, soft, and delicate opening section that begins with upper woodwinds represents peacefulness returning to the soul. The approach to a new consciousness is conveyed as the piece builds to a slightly faster Grandioso section with glorious fanfare passages in the trumpets and horns and dramatic flourishes in the woodwinds. The remainder of the work represents a notion of becoming familiar with the new surroundings. A solemn closing section brings the composition to a soft, peaceful conclusion.

- Program Note from The Instrumentalist


State Ratings

  • South Carolina: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • "New Music Reviews." The Instrumentalist, 71/9 (April 2017), p. 35.
  • Perusal score