Aegean Symphony

From Wind Repertory Project
Gary D. Ziek

Gary D Ziek

General Info

Year: 2003
Duration: c. 20:35
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C Alan Publications
Cost: Score and Parts - $175.00   |   Score Only - $50.00


1. Phaeton - 6:10
2. Sisyphus - 2:58
3. Pan - 4:40
4. Pandora - 6:48


C Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Bongo (low)
  • Brake Drum
  • Chimes
  • Chinese Cymbal
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Bongo (low)
  • Marimba
  • Ratchet
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Aegean Symphony is comprised of four narrative movements telling the story of four Greek mythological legends: Phaeton's ill fated chariot ride across the sky, Sisyphus's doomed eternity of frustration, the origin of the Pan flute, and Pandora's curiosity that released the ills of the world, only to be comforted by Hope at the conclusion.

-Program note by publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

  • Tennessee: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Kansas City (Mo.) Wind Symphony (Langston Hemenway, conductor) - 8 October 2023

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works