Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Aegean Modes

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Vaclav Nelhybel

Vaclav Nelhybel

General Info

Year: 1974 / 1977
Duration: c. 6:00
Difficulty: II (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: E.C. Kirby Ltd.
Cost: Out of print


1. Aeolian - 3:20
2. Dorian - 2:40


Full Score (Score is in "Open" or "French" format)
Flute and Piccolo
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass and Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Contralto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Trombone I-II
Percussion, four players, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Tenor Drum
  • Triangle (2)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Aegean Modes was originally written for orchestra. This adaptation for symphonic band is made by the composer. The structure of both versions is identical with the exception of the first movement which, in the band version, is transposed from A to G minor. The idiomatic orchestral textures have been translated into the medium of the band without altering the level of technical difficulty.

- Program Note from the score


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Nelhybel, V. (1977). Aegean Modes : For Symphonic Band : pour harmonie [score]. E.C. Kirby: Toronto, Ont.