Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Adagio - Allegro Molto from "Symphony No 9"

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Antonín Dvořák

Antonín Dvořák (arr. William V Johnson)

Subtitle: For Clarinet Choir

General Info

Year: 1893 / 2015
Duration: c. 9:40
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: William V. Johnson
Cost: Score and Parts (digital) - $25.00


Full Score
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet I-II
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

While guest conducting in Northern California in the spring of 2015, I was asked by members of Clarinet Fusion, a high level nine-member San Francisco Bay Area clarinet choir, to arrange a work for them to be performed the following spring in Davies Symphony Hall for San Francisco Symphony’s Community of Music Makers (an outreach program for community chamber ensembles.) They had chosen the first movement of Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9 in E minor, “From the New World”, Op. 95, Adagio-Allegro Molto, for their 2016 performance.

Reducing a major work for large symphony orchestra to nine players was a huge challenge, but lots of fun. On April 3, 2016, the arrangement was premiered at Davies Symphony Hall by Clarinet Fusion to a small audience of family and friends as a part of San Francisco Symphony Community of Music Makers Chamber Music Workshop. As one can imagine, it is a very challenging arrangement, but playable. The instrumentation consists of 1 E♭ clarinet, 4 B♭ clarinets, 1 alto clarinet, 2 bass clarinets, and 1 contra alto clarinet. The players of Clarinet Fusion were very helpful in making changes as they began rehearsing the piece. Therefore, this arrangement is as much theirs as it is mine.

Composed in 1893, Symphony No. 9 in E minor is a work written by the Czech composer when he lived in the United States from 1892 to 1895. Dvořák was the head of the National Conservatory of Music, which no longer exists. The composer writes, “I have simply written original themes embodying the peculiarities of Native American and African American music, and, using these themes as subjects, have developed them with all the resources of modern rhythms, counterpoint, and harmonies.”

- Program Note by arranger


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Clarinet Fusion (San Francisco) – 3 April 2016 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works