Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Across a Golden Sky

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Quinn Mason

Quinn Mason

This work is the second piece of the triptych Of Day and Night.

General Info

Year: 2019
Duration: c. 7:00
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: NYC Music Services
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $200.00 | Score Only (print) - $40.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Percussion, including:

  • Chimes
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Across a Golden Sky is composer Quinn Mason’s second rhapsody. This work explores the hidden wonders of the magical period of daytime known as the “golden hour,” a phenomenon shortly before sunset where the sun is redder than the sky itself. Mason crafts gentle melodic fragments with undulating harmonic motion to create a pastoral work that, at its peak, emanates a brilliant and majestic landscape of vibrant color and pure beauty. Shimmers of sunlight are ever present with freely-flowing, aleatoric passages in the winds and bright, metallic percussive colors. As the sun slowly but surely disappears into the horizon, so too does Across a Golden Sky find a wondrous resolve in this mystical soundscape.

- Program Notes by Josh Trentadue


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Hendrix College (Conway, Ark.) Wind Ensemble (Quinn Mason, conductor) - 15 March 2022
  • Otterbein University (Westerville, Ohio) Wind Ensemble (Michael S. Yonchak, conductor) - 12 October 2022
  • California State University, San Bernardino, Symphonic Band (Nicholas Bratcher, conductor) – 17 November 2021
  • Seattle (Wash.) Pacific University Wind Ensemble (Danny Helseth, conductor) – 15 November 2019
  • Texas Woman's University (Denton) University Band (Melinda Najera, conductor) – 14 November 2019 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer