Abschied der Slawin

From Wind Repertory Project
Wassily Agapkin

Wassily Agapkin (ed. John R. Bourgeois)

The title translates from the Russian as "The Farewell of a Slavyanka" or "A Slavic Farewell."

General Info

Year: 1912 / 1995
Duration: 2:40
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Wingert-Jones
Cost: Score and Parts - $65.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This march, which translates as "The Farewell of a Slavyanka," (i.e., a Slav woman) was written in dedication to the Slav women who watched their husbands go to fight the Turkish invaders during the First Balkan War. It is a popular and well-known march not only in Russia and the former Soviet States, but around the world.

- Program Note by Nikk Pilato

This exciting Slavic march is one of the gems to come out of post-cold war Russia. Adapted for American concert band instrumentation by John R Bourgeois, this vibrant "Sousa meets the Volga Boatman" style march brings to mind a Russian military band marching through Moscow's Red Square.

- Program Note from publisher

This classic Slavic March was originally entitled “Farewell to the Slavonic Woman”, and since its premier during World War I, it has become the best known, best loved march in Russia and in the surrounding independent states of the former Soviet Union.

According to the legend, the inspiration for this march came from Agapkin having seen newsreels of the Balken War. During this conflict, Russian and Slavic forces fought together, and reportedly the newsreels contained poignant footage of Slavic soldiers parting with their wives and families, many never to return.

- Program Note by Lee University Wind Ensemble concert program, 10 October 2017


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Interlochen Center for the Arts (Michigan) Adult Band Camp (Thomas Riccobono, conductor) - 14 August 2022
  • Luther College (Decorah, Ia.) Symphonic Band (Cory Near, conductor) – 10 November 2021
  • Dordt University (Sioux Center, Iowa) Campus-Community Band (Onsby Rose, conductor) – 3 March 2020
  • Lee University (Cleveland, Tenn.) Wind Ensemble (Winona Gray Holsinger, conductor) – 25 February 2020
  • Association of Texas Small School Bands (ATSSB) Concert Band (David Wilborn, conductor) - 15 February 2020 (2020 TMEA Conference, San Antonio)
  • Philadelphia (Penn.) Wind Symphony (Paul Bryan, conductor) – 26 October 2019
  • Western Illinois University (Macomb) Concert Band (Arturo Martinez, conductor) – 18 October 2019
  • Florida State University (Tallahassee, Fla.) Concert Band (Steve Kelly, conductor) – 7 October 2019
  • Cornell University (Ithaca, N.Y.) Wind Symphony (Joseph Hermann, conductor) – 6 October 2019
  • Brazil (Ind.) Concert Band (John Philip Huber, conductor) – 16 June 2019
  • University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, Manitowoc Campus Lakeshore Wind Ensemble (Mark Sackman, conductor) – 4 May 2019
  • North Dakota State University (Fargo) Wind Symphony (Warren Olfert, conductor) – 2 December 2018
  • University of North Texas (Denton) Symphonic Band (Dennis W. Fisher, conductor) – 20 September 2018
  • Iowa State University (Ames) Symphonic Band (Michael Golemo, conductor) – 16 February 2018
  • Illinois State University (Normal) Symphonic Winds (Anthony Marinello, III, conductor) – 16 February 2018
  • Lee University (Cleveland, Tenn.) Wind Ensemble (David Holsinger, conductor) – 10 October 2017
  • Allegheny College (Penn.) Band Camp for Adult Musicians (Michael Colburn, conductor) - 30 June 2017
  • Ohio State University (Columbus) University Band (Onsby C. Rose, conductor) – 18 April 2017
  • Cleveland (Ohio) Youth Wind Symphony (Daniel Crain, conductor) – 26 February 2017

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Agapkin, W.; Bourgeois, J. (1995). A Slavic Farewell: For Concert Band [score]. Wingert-Jones: Kansas City, Mo.